September 7

There are 1 entries for this date: Malcolm Bradbury

    Malcolm Bradbury

    Malcolm Bradbury

    On this date in 1932, Malcolm Stanley Bradbury was born in Sheffield, England. He earned a degree in English from University College at Leicester in 1953, an M.A. in English literature from Queen Mary College in 1955 and a Ph.D. in American studies at the University of Manchester in 1962. He finished his first novel, Eating People is Wrong, while recovering from major heart surgery. The book was published in 1958. Bradbury has since published five more novels, including The History Man (1975), which was made into a BBC television series in 1981.

    Bradbury helped found the influential Creative Writing M.A. course at the University of East Anglia in 1970 — Ian McEwan was the first student — and was a professor of American studies. He wrote over 50 scripts for television shows, screenplays and radio dramas, including the crime series “A Touch of Frost” (1992–99) and television series “Anything More Would Be Greedy” (1989). Bradbury married Elizabeth Salt in 1959 and they had two children, Dominic and Matthew. Bradbury was knighted in 1991 for his services to literature. He died in 2000 at age 68.

    “Malcolm is an agnostic and didn’t want to be married in church.”

    Bradbury’s wife Elizabeth, interview with The Independent (April 9, 1995)

    Compiled by Sabrina Gaylor
    © Freedom From Religion Foundation. All rights reserved.

Freedom From Religion Foundation