Freethought Today · Vol. 28 No. 6 August 2011

Published by the Freedom From Religion Foundation, Inc.

FFRF awards $5,200 in Bushong high school essay scholarships

The Freedom From Religion Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of its 2011 Herbert Bushong High School Senior Essay Competition. Herbert, a Lifetime Member from Texas, has again generously endowed the scholarships. FFRF award $5,200 in prizes.

College-bound seniors were asked to “describe a moment that made you proud to be a freethinker (atheist/agnostic/ nonbeliever).” For first place, Anna Liu received a $2,000 cash scholarship; $1,000 goes to Jesse Miller for second place; $500 to Max Sandler for third place; and $300 goes to Elizabeth Sweeny for a newly offered fourth place. Seven $200 “honorable mentions” go to Benjamin Sudbrink, Kayla Fischl, Sierra Buehlman Barbeau, Dalila Ozier, Samuel Luke, Megan Wickens and Emily Schick.

The essays are printed in this issue on Page 8-11. For space reasons, “honorable mentions” were excerpted. “We are extremely grateful that Herbert has once again shown such generosity in sponsoring the competition,” said FFRF Co-President Annie Laurie Gaylor. “The encouragement he offers young freethinkers is immeasurable. We also congratulate scholarship recipients and all those freethinking students who entered. You’re all winners!”

FFRF is a non-profit, educational organization. All dues and donations are deductible for income-tax purposes.

FFRF has received a 4 star rating from Charity Navigator

FFRF is a member of the Secular Coalition for America

FFRF privacy statement