Schedule of Events

2023 Convention Logo


*Subject to change


Thursday, October 12

4-6 pm     Open House, Freethought Hall
Early registration, appetizers, self-guided tour


Friday, October 13

8:00 am       Registration opens
Monona Terrace Community & Convention Center
                    Complimentary continental breakfast, coffee & tea begins
8:55 am       “Die Gedanken Sind Frei” – Dan Barker at piano
9:00 am       Welcome – Lisa Strand, director of operation
                    Year in Review – Dan and Annie Laurie Gaylor, co-presidents
9:30 am       Nothing Fails Like Prayer Award – Emily Olson
9:45 am       “Forward Award” – Mary Ziegler
10:30 am     Coffee & Tea Break, Book signing in lobby for Mary Ziegler
11:00 am     Freethought Heroine Award
“We of Little Faith: An Atheist Comes Clean (And Why You Should Too)” – Kate Cohen
11:45 am      Book signing in lobby for Kate Cohen, Ballroom closed to attendees for Godless Gospel Rehersal

NOON         LUNCH BREAK (on own)

1:30 pm       mic checks
2:00 pm       Legal Highlights – Rebecca Markert & legal staff
3:30 pm       FFRF Action Fund Reports – Ryan Jayne, Ryan Dudley & Mark Dann
3:50 pm       BREAK
4:15 pm       Student Essay Winners
4:30 pm       Henry Zumach Freedom From Religious Fundamentalism Award
Planned Parenthood – Jen Castle
5:15 pm       Cash bar opens, Ballroom closed to attendees for Godless Gospel Rehersal
                    Buffet DINNER (ticketed)
7:00 pm       Address by U.S. Rep. Mark Pocan, ballroom re-opens
7:15 pm       “The Age of Appeasement” -Jeremiah Camara, Filmmaker
8:00 pm       Godless Gospel
9:00 pm       Complementary cake and beverages


Saturday, October 14

8 am            NonPrayer BREAKFAST (ticketed item)
                    Moment of Bedlam
                    Nothing Fails Like Prayer Award invocation
9:00 am       Ballroom, tables re-open
9:25 am       “Nothing Fails Like Prayer” – Dan Barker
9:30 am       Student Activist Awards – Marcus Stovall, Bear Bright
Each introduced by local Drag Queens Bryanna Banx$ and Latina Envy
10:00 am      Christian nationalism Experts
American Crusade” – Andrew Seidel
10:20 am      The Flag and The Cross – Samuel L. Perry
10:40 am      Champion of the First Amendment – Amanda Tyler, Christians Against Christian Nationalism
11:00 am      Panel Q&A from audience
11:30 am      Book signings for Andew Seidel

Noon            Chapter lunch
Buffet LUNCH opens (ticketed)

1:30 pm        Ballroom re-opens
2:00 pm        Secular Legislative Panel – Minn. state Rep. Mike Freiberg, Wis. state Sen. Kelda Roys, TBA
3:00 pm        “The Hidden Roots of White Supremacy” – Robbie Jones
3:45 pm        Stretch break
4:00 pm        “Clarence Darrow Civil Liberties Award” – Elie Mystal
4:45 pm        Q&A
5:00 pm        Book signings for Robert P. Jones & Elie Mystal
5:30 pm        Cash bar
6:00 pm        DINNER (ticketed)
8:00 pm        Drawing for Clean Money – emceed by Buzz Kemper
8:30 pm        “Emperor Has No Clothes Award” – Lizz Winstead


Sunday, October 15

8 am            Coffee, tea, light breakfast fare
9:00 am       Annual Membership Meeting
11ish am      State Representatives Meeting

Adjourn by noon


Freedom From Religion Foundation